moving forward

navigating through the life that was and moving into the life that is

Things I’ve Learned from Glen – from Michelle Walker

on December 30, 2011

It has been almost two months since the accident, and I have to say that in these two months, I have learned so many things – most of which I attribute to Glen. As most of you know, I have an older brother of my own, Tony, who is one of my best friends in the whole world and I love him more than words can express. When I started dating Mike three years ago, I instantly gained another big brother in Glen – AND the sister I never had in Sandra! Glen actually took credit for Mike and me getting together, although it wasn’t quite accurate – I guess I’ll let him have the glory!!

In the three years I’ve known Glen, he has taught me so many things. Things I never realized until now. The way he lived his life resonates with me. No matter what life threw at him, things just had a way of working out. He lived such a happy life and nothing really seemed to faze him. One thing I’ve heard so many say about Glen in the last two months is that he never complained about ANYTHING and always had a smile on his face. What an amazing way to live.

Prior to the accident, I had been talking with Glen about my career. I didn’t love what I was currently doing and didn’t know what exactly I wanted to do – but I knew I wanted a change. He and I talked about how I could become a teacher or coach – do something that was fulfilling. I could go back to school and pursue an entirely different career path. Basically, he told me I could do anything I wanted.

After many months of thought, discussion with Mike and completely shifted priorities since the accident, I feel like I have been able to make one of the best decisions of my life. I have understood what is really important – to be happy and be with my family. Because I have such a wonderful husband I am able to say that I have resigned from my current job and will be leaving corporate America on January 13. What happened to Glen showed me that you can’t be afraid to make a change. It showed me that you can’t remain in an unhappy place just for a paycheck. It showed me how delicate life can be, and that it is time to walk around with a smile on my face with nothing to complain about – just like Glen always did. It taught me that life is a blessing that I can’t take for granted.

With Cindy heading back to Michigan on Monday, I will be able to be available for anything Sandra and the kids need. I have no doubt that Doug and Tom can run the ship, but it won’t hurt to have some relief as well. I love Sandra as if she is my real sister and would do anything for her. This is what is important, not sitting at a desk. I am blessed to have the skills and ability to work from home and now I can also have a flexible schedule to do what will make me happy. I don’t know where my road will lead or what’s next for my career, but I am SO excited to find out.

So all I can say is thank you to Glen for teaching me how to live. He may not know the impact he had on me, but it was life-changing. I would give anything to have my other big brother back. He adopted me as the sister-he-never-had long before Mike ever put a ring on my finger – which I’m sure is no surprise to anyone. I love him my second big brother and miss him every day. I will forever be grateful to Glen.

- Michelle Walker


5 responses to “Things I’ve Learned from Glen – from Michelle Walker

  1. Dave & Bev Kagan says:

    Michelle,
    What a profound, noble and touching tribute. I don’t know you, of course, but I am quite certain that corporate America’s loss is humanity’s gain.
    Dave Kagan
    Grand Rapids, MI

  2. Lori Bowen says:

    I am so happy for you Michelle. I know Glen is looking down with a huge smile and is so proud of your courage.

  3. Melissa Spencer says:

    That is such wonderful news michelle! I know that they will be so happy to have you there helping… You are such an amazing person, and Glenn is smiling on you guys for sure!

  4. melinda W says:

    Michelle you’re amazing and yes Glen was EXACTLY as you described. Love ya.

  5. Michaele Quesnel says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with Glen. He continues to bless us all through the lives he has touched. And congratulations on finding your new path. It takes a lot of courage to live an authentic life, and it’s not easy, but so worth it!

Leave a Reply

