moving forward

navigating through the life that was and moving into the life that is

Generosity

on November 9, 2011

“It’s not how much we give but how much love we put into giving.”
-Mother Theresa

Generous, the first word that comes to my mind when I think of Sandra and Glen. I first met Sandra when we started teaching Kindergarten together at Chesney. I was automatically drawn to her radiant personality and quickly realized that this was going to be a fun year of teaching with her right across the hall from me! Within that year Sandra not only became one of my favorite co-workers, but also one of my best friends.

A few months into the school year Sandra met Glen and it was a true love story. My husband and I got engaged the same week as Sandra and Glen. It was the best feeling to see Sandra so happy when she told me about the engagement, she truly married her best friend!

Over the past years Matt and I have been blessed to have Sandra, Glen, Alana, and Cameron in our lives. Sandra is the friend that always makes me feel better, gives the best advice, prays over me, is so passionate, and will drop ANYTHING to help me or anyone around her. Glen is the guy that is helping to plan to get big groups of people together, will do anything for those around him, and every time I see him he gives me a big hug, kiss on the cheek, and always asks me, “How are you doing sweetie?”

This is why on Saturday night when I heard the news about the horrible accident, I had the worst, most indescribable feeling come over me. Matt and I were at a wedding reception and I immediately dropped to my knees and began praying. I truly believe in the power of prayer and know that God is working every minute of the day to heal my dear, sweet friends.

I find myself wanting to call, text, or walk into Sandra’s classroom to get her advice on something or just to get a hug! Sandra and Glen have such a large groups of friends, and that has been proven over the past few days. It is not often that you are blessed enough to have two people in your life that are amazing friends, parents, and followers of God.

Lots of Love,
Carrie Staib


Leave a Reply

