moving forward

navigating through the life that was and moving into the life that is

My husband the rock

on November 9, 2011

This is Michelle Walker and Mike is my husband. I really just wanted to let everyone know how amazing he is and has been since the beginning of this trying time. He loves his brother so much and won’t leave his side. In such a hard time, Mike has been a rock for his family and friends – especially for his parents. He knows all of the nurses and doctors, is their point of contact for everything and is Glen’s number 1 cheerleader (in the most manly way possible!)

Although this is terribly difficult for him, I couldn’t be more proud of him and proud to be his wife. He and I have made a cozy little home in a small room at the hospital and sleep there each night. The outpouring of love and support from our friends has been what keeps us positive and smiling. Mike and Glen’s brotherly bond is unbreakable and he is just amazing. I don’t know how else to describe it. His positive attitude is infectious and his ability to handle the situation astonishing. I love him very much and am doing everything I can to be his rock, but ultimately the visits and energy from our friends and family are what helps our spirits and keeps us going. So everyone please continue to come to the hospital to visit when you can and keep all of the prayers coming!


3 responses to “My husband the rock

  1. Praying for you all here in Michigan.

  2. Jay Denslow says:

    I couldn’t agree more and was just making that same comment to my family and friends. I went to high school with Glen and watched Mike grow up. To see the man he has become, being the rock for his family through this whole ordeal, would make Glen so proud. I can’t wait to tell Glen how strong Michael has been for him and the rest of the family. I don’t think everyone truly realizes everything Michael (and you) are dealing with right now… From providing information to us, to dealing with insurance issues, to gathering Glen and Sandra’s possessions from the accident, to speaking with attorneys. All when you should only have to focus on Glen and Sandra pulling through this. You two are amazing.

    Michelle, I have never met you but I look forward to when I get the chance to thank you for all you have done. I know Michael is as thankful and proud to have you at his side as you are of him.

    Jay Denslow

  3. Kathy Commeret says:

    Mike and Michelle, I am Sandra’s cousin and just wanted to tell you how awesome you both are! I can tell there is no other place you would be than by your brother’s side, but it is emotionally and physically draining, I am sure. I will pray for both of you to get rest and strength, so you can continue to be the strenght that Sandra and Glen need right now.
    Love,
    Kathy Comeret

Leave a Reply

