moving forward

navigating through the life that was and moving into the life that is

I can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens me. Philipians 4:13

on November 20, 2011

It has been three days since I left Sandy’s side from Atlanta Medical Center and what a whirlwind it has been. When I got home, I was quickly rushed into the regular routine and rush of life, while constantly thinking about Sandy and Glen. The only thing that has kept me sane is the fact that I know Sandy would want me to continue on with my life. (Although it is sooooo hard and I’m hoping to be there in the next few weeks again so that we can celebrate the holidays together 🙂

There are a few things that I wanted to highlight that have been on my mind that I wanted to share with you…

While I was in Atlanta, there was one constant phrase/verse that kept me going and it was….I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength, Philipians 4:13. I know that God has total control of both Glen and Sandy right now. He is an ever-trusting and all knowing God. He will see this through and is holding both Sandra and Glen in his palm. One night when Sandy was really agitated, I said to her, I can do all things and she finished the phrase by saying “through Christ who gives me strength.” I told her to keep fighting and that God will continue to give her strength to get through all of this. While she would toss and turn in pain, I would often ask if she wanted to pray. Cindy and I would take her hand and she seemed to be calmed by this. Sandy is a God-loving woman who has truly found her faith this past year. A few weeks ago, while her and I were talking on the phone, we discussed how life can be so hard and it is hard to understand why God lets so much pain into our lives. To sum up our conversation, we discussed the song, Blessings by Laura Story. The chorus really talked to both of us about how sometimes—the trials in this life are His mercies in disguise. Knowing that we had this conversation gives me all the more reason to trust and know that maybe this trial is a mercy in disguise! During one of the nights that I was there, I played this song and it seemed to calm her down. She actually hummed the song and it was a reassurance that our God is an AWESOME God and that His presence was right in that room with us.

‘Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

The other important person that I wanted to mention was Cindy Meeker. She has been Sandy’s rock through all of this. While there are MANY people filling the gaps and doing numerous things behind the scenes, Cindy has spent every single night next to Sandy—comforting her and providing her encouragement all at her own expense (I don’t think that she has slept laying flat in over 2 weeks!!) Cindy has always been a special aunt to me and my siblings. She has never missed anything in our lives and I’m grateful for that. She is a phenomenal woman and keeping it all together right now!! Thank you for your endless love and support.

Sandy and Glen’s support from family and friends is overwhelming. It is so comforting to know that they are both being lifted up through prayer, positive energy, visits and love each and everyday. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. Without the support of you, Glen and Sandy would not have progressed as much as they have so far! I feel like I have a new family in Atlanta now!! 🙂

With all my love,

Dena (Commeret) Willis (Sandy’s cousin from MI)

 


4 responses to “I can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens me. Philipians 4:13

  1. What a beautiful post Dena! I love that song too. It’s a blessing for you to have been there and be such a bright light for them and for Christ. Thank YOU!

  2. Marcia Swiss says:

    Dena, your words are so encouraging and so true…God is in control. We continue to pray for Glen and Sandra with faith that God will bring good from this very painful time.
    Blessings to you all,
    Marcia, in Ann Arbor, MI

  3. Lynn Setsma says:

    Thanks, Dena. I feel so much a part of the Meeker family because of your family. Cindy and I connected immediately and Sandy was part of that package. I pray so often and just picture them all back together like in the family picture that was posted.

    You’re right about the hard times. It’s hard when we’re in the middle of them, but God’s grace is sufficient and in hindsight, we see that.

    Love you, Dena.
    Lynn

  4. Andrea Stanberry says:

    Dena I am Glennie’s aunt and this is what gave me hope for that day. I say thank you. I can only find the words now because every time I want to blog I am in tears. I am still praying for Sandra and I know my God and he is a healer and he said by his stripes we are heal for I know that Sandra will have a full recovery. As for Alana and Cameron our love will surround them. They are from four strong and beautiful families so they will be fine. I can do all things through Christ who strengthened me
    Thank you for this word.

Leave a Reply

