moving forward

navigating through the life that was and moving into the life that is

Sunday – 11:00 PM

on November 27, 2011

Today was a roller-coaster of emotions. Sandra had many visitors throughout the day which always brings her great pleasure. Uncle Randy flew out in the afternoon and she was sad to see him leave. The late evening was devoted to editing Glen’s obituary, choosing music for the funeral service and a number of issues related to the funeral that saw Sandra grieving deeply for Glen. It is difficult for a parent to see their child crying so inconsolably. As a parent, you just want to fix it for her. But we can’t. So we cried with her…and for her. This will be a very difficult week for all. The finality of the situation at once creates a certain resolve to meet the challenges ahead while it also develops into an almost terminal sadness. In the end, I know Sandra to be strong enough and focused enough to do what she will have to do. But she also must grieve. And we have to let her.

-dm


9 responses to “Sunday – 11:00 PM

  1. Amanda Sorrelle says:

    Doug – Patrick and I are sending our love and prayers to all of you. Thank you so much for your beautiful words that you post each day. It helps in knowing what to specifically pray for. Sandy is blessed by many friends and family as you always mention. I will say though that having you and Cindy for parents are one of her greatest blessings next to Cameron and Alana. Hugs to all.
    Amanda

  2. Sarah Kiesche says:

    This hurts my heart so much. I cannot fathom being in Sandy’s place. I remember when my dad died, 3 days before I turned 18…that depth of sadness is so overwhelming. I don’t know when or if it ever really went away, but the heart and mind do manage to find a little bit of peace. It takes time, patience, love, and lots of time with the Man upstairs.

    I hope that this time passes quickly for Sandra and the 1st of your

  3. Sarah Kiesche says:

    This hurts my heart so much. I cannot fathom being in Sandy’s place. I remember when my dad died, 3 days before I turned 18…that depth of sadness is so overwhelming. I don’t know when or if it ever really went away, but the heart and mind do manage to find a little bit of peace. It takes time, patience, love, and lots of time with the Man upstairs.

    I hope that this time passes quickly for Sandra and the rest of your family. We will be there Saturday to lend support and love.

    Hug her for me!

  4. Ann Mione Purser says:

    Mr. Meeker,

    Thank you for taking the time to keep updating this blog. You are the only source for many of us to keep up with the news concerning Sandra, progress and plans. I’m sure it is so heart-wrenching for you to watch your daughter hurt on a level at which few of us can relate. I hurt for all of you, too. Your posts let us know which direction our prayers need to take. And today’s prayers from me will be all about lightening the enormous load of grief. I’m hoping sweet memories and the strength from enduring friendships will carry Sandra through the celebratiion of Glen on Saturday.

  5. Dena Willis says:

    Uncle Doug,
    Thanks for your words each and everyday. It keeps us in tune with Sandy’s progress. As I write, tears roll down my face as I’m struck with the pain and agony that Sandy is going through. I pray for peace, strength and understanding through all of this and everyone involved. With all my heart, Dena

  6. Peggy Mione (Gran) says:

    Dear Mr. Meeker,
    I have always heard, and firmly believe, that a parent is only as happy as his or her unhappiest child. How terribly difficult these past weeks have been, and will continue to be, for you and Cindy! I have so wished that I could in some way ease the heartaches that all of you are suffering, but I just do not know how.

    You have been so good to keep everyone posted during the events of the past weeks and I thank you so much for that. You have helped not only the families and friends, but also those of us who care so much for them.

    I am Michelle Walker’s ‘Gran’ – Her father, Kelly Mione, is my son and he said he visited with you when he was in Atlanta the week after the accident. He told me what an extraordinary person you are and how nice it is to have you for a friend. I met you at Michelle and Michael’s wedding in May, but didn’t really get to have an extended conversation with you.

    My heart will be with you and yours and with the Walkers this weekend and I will be thinking of all of you with much love.

    Gran Mione (Peggy)

  7. Mimi and Scott Joling says:

    Thanks, Doug for the updates – we are checking many times each day. So hard to hear of the excruciating grief you are all going through. Please know that we grieve with you, and keep your family in our hearts.

    Scott & Mimi

  8. Brooke Crawford says:

    Hello,

    I don’t know your family or even your friends. Your story has brought me to tears to the point where I can barely work today. I am a 37 year old wife with a 34 year old husband, a 17 year old daughter, 2 year old daughter and 4 month old daughter. I just cannot imagine what your family is going through. Such a beautiful couple and beautiful family. They remind me of my husband and our family. You seem to have the support of so many who love you so dearly, but if you ever need anything at all. Please contact my husband and I. Even if it is for a complete stranger to just listen. You are in my heart and my prayers. I am so sorry for your loss. God Bless ~

  9. Casey Cautin says:

    My son, Jonathan, was in Mrs. Walker’s class last year for kindergarten. Like many parents, I was anxious about his first day of school, but about a week before school started, he got a letter in the mail from Mrs. Walker. I remember it had a picture of her, and she told a little bit about herself. From then on, I didn’t worry as much because I felt that he was in good hands. She (and Mrs. Chimilio, of course) taught my son how to read. She was patient with him and reassured me that he really is a good kid even though he started getting in trouble at school around the time his little sister was born. She made a DVD at the end of the school year with pictures and music that still brings me to tears every time I watch it. She has truly made a difference in our lives. Thank you. We wish you well and will keep you in our thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

