moving forward

navigating through the life that was and moving into the life that is

‘I Was Here’

on January 3, 2012

On New Year’s Eve, I was in and out of sleep on the floor at my parents’ house in Florida. Mike sat in the chair I was leaning on. We were watching Dick Clark’s special and waiting for the ball to drop. I woke up in time to see Lady Gaga perform, which was fun to watch. But, then they showed a special performance that had never been seen publicly by Beyonce. She performed it in London sometime last year.

As soon as the song got into the chorus, I reached up and held Mike’s hand and he instantly squeezed my hand. And throughout the entire song, we both were thinking the same thing without even speaking or looking at each other. Just a few hand squeezes were all we needed.

The song that she performed is called ‘I Was Here‘ and is an extremely powerful song. I believe this ABSOLUTELY encompasses everything about Glen’s life and felt compelled to share the lyrics. I downloaded it and am listening to it as I write this post.

I wanna leave my footprints on the sands of time
Know there was something that, and something that I left behind
When I leave this world, I’ll leave no regrets
Leave something to remember, so they won’t forget

I was here
I lived, I loved
I was here
I did, I’ve done, everything that I wanted
And it was more than I thought it would be
I will leave my mark so everyone will know
I was here

I want to say I lived each day, until I die
And know that I meant something in, somebody’s life
The hearts I have touched, will be the proof that I leave
That I made a difference, and this world will see

I just want them to know
That I gave my all, did my best
Brought someone to happiness
Left this world a little better just because

I was here

This song reminds me of all the things I have learned from Glen, which I shared a few days ago. He got EVERYTHING out of life and definitely  left his mark – which showed in the 600 people that celebrated his life with us on December 3rd. These lyrics are great, but I would go download the song – the way she sings it is pretty awesome.

– Michelle Walker


2 responses to “‘I Was Here’

  1. Josh and I watched the same performance and we thought of Glen as well. How could you not?

  2. Kristen says:

    Wow!! I watched as that performance as well on New Years and that IS a very powerful song.

Leave a Reply

