moving forward

navigating through the life that was and moving into the life that is

The Best Surprise

on January 3, 2012

I began my second week at the Shepherd Center today.  Now that my mom has gone home for a while to get back to work, my dad took me and stayed and watched my physical therapy session.  I know it was encouraging for him to see me working hard and making such great progress.  Also good for him to see what skills are extremely challenging for me like walking in a straight line, heel to toe, or walking sideways in a “grapevine” way.  Every session is so enlightening for me as well.  We are focusing greatly on my balance. Today I had to stand on a balance “rocker board” while standing in between walking rails.

I usually have to do three sets of a given skill.  With this activity the first set of three I was able to balance while holding onto the rails.  The second set of 3 I had to not hold the rails but if I needed to I could grab them.  The last set of three was the greatest challenge of the whole day, I had to try to balance on the board without holding on to the rails and while closing my eyes! There have been other activities where I have to try them with my eyes closed and it is always the most difficult way for me to keep balanced and I find myself feeling frustrated.  It is these moments where I have to remind myself that this is my starting point and to not get frustrated because I have already made such amazing progress.

In an effort to regain full range of movement in my ankle that suffered a severe sprain I got the best surprise in this whole journey to date! I was able to walk on the treadmill for the first time!!! 

Other than the ankle work, a major reason I did the treadmill is so the therapist could check my blood pressure before and then after to see how my heart responded to higher levels of physical exertion.  Thankfully, my blood pressure was excellent before and after! I was able to walk a quarter of a mile in 10 minutes and my dad and I decided that this was for sure the longest distance I have walked without stopping.  Another surprise that I got today was the permission to ride the recumbant bike on the days I do not have therapy.  I am soooooo excited to go to my regular gym  once or twice a week and use the bike.

I certainly took working out for granted prior to the accident.  While I enjoyed working out, running, and being in shape, I did not realize what a blessing it is to be able to do such physically challenging things.  I will never look at working out and running the same way and am feeling blessed beyond measure as I gain the strength to make such major steps. And as I regain ability to pursue the passions in my life I want everyone to know that I have a wish for all of you…

“My wish for you
Is that this life becomes all that you want it to”

And I hope more than anything that through all of this you can learn from Glen and make your life everything you want it to be.

Rascall Flatts – My Wish

I hope the days come easy and the moments pass slow
And each road leads you where you want to go
And if you’re faced with the choice and you have to choose
I hope you choose the one that means the most to you

And if one door opens to another door closed
I hope you keep on walkin’ til you find the window
If it’s cold outside, show the world the warmth of your smile
But more than anything, more than anything

My wish for you
Is that this life becomes all that you want it to
Your dreams stay big, your worries stay small
You never need to carry more than you can hold

And while you’re out there gettin’ where you’re gettin’ to
I hope you know somebody loves you
And wants the same things too
Yeah, this is my wish

I hope you never look back but you never forget
All the ones who love you and the place you left
I hope you always forgive and you never regret
And you help somebody every chance you get

Oh, you’d find God’s grace in every mistake
And always give more than you take
But more than anything, yeah more than anything

My wish for you
Is that this life becomes all that you want it to
Your dreams stay big, your worries stay small
You never need to carry more than you can hold

And while you’re out there gettin’ where you’re gettin’ to
I hope you know somebody loves you
And wants the same things too
Yeah, this is my wish, yeah yeah

My wish for you
Is that this life becomes all that you want it to
Your dreams stay big, your worries stay small
You never need to carry more than you can hold

And while you’re out there gettin’ where you’re gettin’ to
I hope you know somebody loves you
And wants the same things too
Yeah, this is my wish
(My wish for you)

This is my wish
(My wish for you)
I hope you know somebody loves you
(My wish for you)
May all your dreams stay big
(My wish for you)


4 responses to “The Best Surprise

  1. Char Firlik says:

    You go girl! Glad you are sharing and keeping track of your milestones. hugs J&C

  2. Kristen says:

    Sandra, I know I keep saying this…. but I am SO proud of you and your progress. You TRULY are an inspiration. Your post brought tears to my eyes as I read the lyrics to this song. So moving. I am so happy that you have made such progress in your recovery. I know this may be a long way off (and I need to get back on track) but I look forward to the day when you and I can do another 5K together!! Keep it up Sandra!!! ;o)

  3. flygirlstamper says:

    I want/need to follow your blog. Please connect me somehow…my husband is a TBI survivor…and I need your wisdom and support. Thanks

    • sandraglen says:

      Hi! I believe that you can “subscribe” to the blog and then you will get emailed when there is a new post. I would like to do anything and everything I can to give you support. If you are able, please post me your email and I will write you and delete the post. Looking forward to connecting!

Leave a Reply

