moving forward

navigating through the life that was and moving into the life that is

Another step in the healing process

on January 12, 2012

After going to the doctor this week I got the great news of only needing to remain on one medicine, Coumadin, for the blood clots that I experienced while at the hospital.  An interesting side effect of being off the other meds is that I am starting to feel a little more like myself.  The purpose of one of the other medicines was to kind of slow my brain down because of the initial 3 brain hemorrhages. Once those were controlled, I remained on the medicine to allow my brain not to get overloaded and to promote healing. All very necessary steps in the healing process.  Since being well enough to go off,  I definitely feel like my range of emotions has increased as well as my motivation and endurance to achieve more on a daily basis. While I will never know if it is from going off the meds, it is a welcome part of the healing process and makes me excited that I feel I can achieve more. I mean prior to the accident I had begun training to achieve completion of a half-marathon!!!  I now look forward to making those same kind of meaningful and purposeful goals for myself.

This picture is a great reminder of such goals and I remember how great I felt when I first saw it!  This was one week after I got out of the hospital and one of the first times I attempted a long distance with no walker! I was lucky of course to have Michelle holding on to my safety belt.  And now 5 weeks later, although I am not out of the woods, I am on a treadmill, don’t have to use a safety belt, and only use the walker when in uncommon or crowded places. Whew! God is good.


4 responses to “Another step in the healing process

  1. Ali says:

    Amazing!! God is good 🙂 ! You are a strong and inspirational woman 🙂

  2. Char Firlik says:

    God is good and you are one strong woman surrounded by love. Keep walking …soon you will be running. Hugs and love, Jeri and Char

  3. You go Sandra! I admire your strength, both in body and character.

  4. Ann Mione Purser says:

    Goose-bumps….

Leave a Reply

