moving forward

navigating through the life that was and moving into the life that is

Valentine’s Day

on February 14, 2012

I am starting this Valentine’s day without the most amazing husband and someone who loved Valentine’s Day.  My Valentine’s Days with Glen always started with breakfast in bed and lasted the whole day with presents, cards, and flowers galore! I had never loved Valentine’s as much until I met him and he was an amazing man. These are my flowers from last year that he hand delivered to my Kindergarten classroom at school. Imagine the oohs and ahs they received with 20 5 and 6 year olds! Haha! They were as overjoyed and excited as I was.

Surprisingly, for the morning of Valentine’s Day, I am feeling okay and I have such valuable memories to focus on.  As I mentioned before, Glen loved Valentine’s Day and it has rubbed off on me because I went a little crazy with it for the kids. The above is what they will see this morning.

And in a move that I can only say must have been planted by Glen, I bought both of the kids new shoes.  Sketchers for Alana because Daddy was with us when she got her very first pair ever and Nike’s of course for Cameron! I may have gone overboard but my children are two children who deserve to wake up to a day of pure love, enjoyment, and surprise! I know that presents and spoiling them will never fill a void, but if it brings a moment of healing on their road to recovering, I am all for it! So Happy Valentine’s to the two loves of my life, Alana and Cameron. 🙂

In closing, I would like to share a song that was Glen and my first official song of our relationship.  And while I wish that all of the lyrics still applied I am certain and encouraged by these.

“When the rain is pouring down
And my heart is hurting
You will always be around
This I know for certain”

Babe, I know you are here.  I feel you every day, in the decisions I make, the way I treat others, and in our kids.  I will always love you and always keep you in my heart.  Happy Valentine’s Day Glen.


8 responses to “Valentine’s Day

  1. tonia says:

    Beautiful, and you are loved from the inside out….he is here with you, still loving you. I don’t have eloquent words, I wish I did, to make you feel better……just know that I love you sweetie and I am here for you!!!

  2. Happy Valentine’s day, Sandra. May your day be filled with love.

  3. Shannon Morgan says:

    I don’t think you have gone overboard at all. I think you are an amazing woman and awesome Mom to be focusing today on happiness and not wallowing in sorrow! Your kids do deserve a big surprise and lots of smiles and giggles!! Plus, shoes are practical! (:
    Happy Valentines Day to you!
    Hugs!

  4. Kristen says:

    Simply sweet. And I agree. That’s not going overboard. You do what you feel you should for your kids and there’s nothing wrong with that at all. Enjoy your day with the kids!!!! ;o)

  5. Jessica Deresch says:

    How beautiful!

  6. Debbie says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day Sandy – your strength is an inspiration… you are truly blessed among women. Cameron & Alana are just two of the people fortunate to have you love them… love & prayers always, Debbie

  7. Aunt Cathy says:

    Your words always touch my heart. Making today special for Alana and Cameron is wonderful. Their joy and love will enrich your day. Love and prayers to you.

  8. Amanda Sorrellle says:

    You are an amazing woman and mom! It looks like you and your kids will have a day filled with love and nice surprises! Sending hugs and prayers from Michigan!
    Amanda and Patrick Sorrelle

Leave a Reply

