moving forward

navigating through the life that was and moving into the life that is

And then she ran…

on March 27, 2012

My first 5K was on March 24th.

Facebook status the night before the race: “I am feeling so nervous and excited about tomorrow but have been so uplifted by kind words from all over the place. Thank you so much for the encouragement.
The following passage is back from my high school basketball days and I have kept it close to my heart and mind ever since.
My life changed so dramatically…I have hoped in the Lord…He has renewed my strength…and with Him, I can do this ♥

Isaiah 40:30-31
30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;
31 but those who hope in the LORD
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.”

Facebook status the morning of the race: Race morning! So nervous and excited and as I have said in past writings…“I am not running away from anything, not avoiding my life or my reality, but running towards something. Towards healing, towards peace, towards wellness.” Bring it! 🙂


I often would wear Glen’s hats and so I felt it fitting that I wear one for this first race along with his cross.


Here is a picture of him wearing the hat and cross.

He loved when I would wear his hat so I knew that he would be smiling down on me as I raced.


I completed the race with my friends Erica,Sarah, and Lisa, and I am SO glad they were there. 

All of them were so encouraging and stayed right with me the whole way.  When I would get tired they would let me know that I could do this! And I did! I am so blessed to have the incredible friends that I do. Love you all for your help and encouragement and believing in me!

Here is a collage of  pictures taken before and during the race. The joy on my face speaks for itself.  This weekend was by far the happiest I have been since the accident occurred. In a way, I almost felt like me again. 🙂

So we crossed the finish line and I was feeling ecstatic and a little overwhelmed by the vastness of this physical and emotional accomplishment. After recording for the news story, I was reminded of just how seriously I was injured in the accident and just how far I’ve come. I crossed the finish line under an hour but I knew that my official time would be a little less though because we were in the third coral to go.  Our race bibs had chips on them so we had to wait to see the official times!  The best part of the finish line was seeing my beautiful daughter’s face.

She was so proud of her mommy!

We all went out to eat a well-deserved breakfast and later that day, the official times were posted! I completed the 5K in  49:29!!! This time was about 10 minute less than what I was hoping for so I was very pleased. My body has definitely been in shock and hurting of course.  So this week I’m only going to do some walking, biking, and PT for my ankle to get ready for this Saturday’s 5K. This Saturday I am doing the Color Run with a few more amazing people I am lucky to have in my life.  I will again post all the results and pictures.

In other news, I go tomorrow to take my official driving test! I am feeling overwhelmed and worried but am so excited by the idea of starting to drive again.  I will be sure to let you all know how it goes.


4 responses to “And then she ran…

  1. Char Firlik says:

    Congratulations Sandy! True grit and true love are yours! Hugs to you1

  2. Mary Reavis says:

    I am so proud for you!! You and your wonderful families continue to be an inspiration and are always in our thoughts and prayers.

  3. Jeremy McNeill says:

    I believe you can do anything you put your mind too Sandra. “If you always put limit on everything you do, physical or anything else. It will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them.” – Bruce Lee

Leave a Reply

