moving forward

navigating through the life that was and moving into the life that is

My Greatest Joys

on November 22, 2023

Today will always sting. It will not matter if it has been 12 years or 50 years. When you lose someone you love, the day that marks when that abscence began will always sting. Your heart never forgets.

So how on this day am I writing about my greatest joy? Out of burden comes blessing. Out of burden comes blessing. I wanted to believe this from the first time my pastor said it to me in 2012. I truly did. Out of burden comes blessing. But I didn’t want them. I didn’t want any blessing that came out of the burden of losing Glen. That trade off was not a reality that I wanted. I would have given nearly anything, every future blessing, if it meant I could have Glen by my side again.

Years later, I am able to understand that the burdens themselves, losing Glen and a traumatic brain injury, are not what create my blessings. My nerdy logic and statistical side reminds myself that “correlation does not imply causation”. My greatest joy does not exist as an effect of my greatest burden. However, having felt and experienced burden has truly provided me with the very ability to accept, take in and experience my blessings in a different way.

So, Glen, on this day that marks when this world lost you, I am greateful that it also reminds me to reflect on the thing that truly is my greatest joy in life, our children.

Here I am, 12 years from my greatest burden, celebrating my greatest joys in your honor. Check out the year our kids have had.

Our soccer star. Taking after you sooooo much!
Welcome to Mexico – Senior Spring Break
Look at our beautiful girl!
Played Sharpay in High School Musical! I know you remember her singing these songs and dreaming she would be Sharpay one day. 💗 Well she did it. And she crushed it. 🩷🩷🩷
Prom. Our beautiful princess. I will never forget the number of times you played Pretty Pretty Princess with her 🩵🩵🩵
Cameron turned 14 and was Mr John Brooke in Little Women.
Alana sang Long Live at her high school baccalaureate at the beautiful Fountain Street Church. I am confident that our Sing Star battles helped foster her love of singing.
Graduation!!! Looks almost as cute as when she graduated Pre-K. Alana was so happy to have her Uncle Mike at her graduation!
Cameron’s 8th grade promotion ceremony. The kids really love each other and Cam can’t wait for the day that he is taller than Alana. 🤣
And all the while, your boy is constantly playing soccer!!! Fall, 2 6 week indoor leagues in the winter, Spring, after school, on the weekends!!! He never stops and I absolutely love every second of it. The top left corner picture was when I suddenly realized how much he was growing up! ❤️❤️ The top right corner are the two coaches he had for nearly 8 seasons of outdoor and indoor soccer over 3 years. What they invest in these boys is irreplaceable! And look at your little nephew! As a fourth grader, he held his own (even outplayed) with the 8th graders!!!!!

And that is only half of the year! I will have to make a Part 2.

As I continue to celebrate what I am thankful for this weekend, you will always be one of the people I am most thankful for. To know you, is to have loved you and it is my absolute greatest joy to watch our children grow and become more and more like you.

On this day, I will not not sit in the loss. I will celebrate the life you lived and the legacies that you left behind. You will always be a part of my greatest joys. I love you.


3 responses to “My Greatest Joys

  1. Cindy Meeker says:

    What a joy they are! Forever thankful for the short time we had with Glen! You are one my joys too! Love you, Mom XO

  2. Admeta Reid says:

    Very touching 💖

  3. Margot Meeker says:

    Beautifully written. I miss Glen, and I am so grateful for what he gave us. ❤️

Leave a comment